National Democracy Day In Nepal (Falgun 7)

Prajatantra Diwas

National Democracy Day In Nepal (Falgun 7)

Democracy day is celebrated in Nepal since Falgun 7, 2007 B.S. according to the Nepalese calendar. It is also called the Prajatantra Diwas. In 2007 B.S Nepal got Prajatantra with the supreme power of the king. Praja refers to the people of the country. On this day Nepal got freedom from the 104 year of Rana Regime.

In 2007 B.S Nepal got democracy for the for the first time. Democracy was the result of the the movement against the rana Regime. In 1997 B.S. the four martyrs namely Dasharath Chand, Dharma Bhakta Mathema, Gangalal Shrestha and Shukra Raj Shastri was killed by the Ranas. After this incident, the anti-Rana activities were ceased and in 2004 B.S. Nepali Congress was established in Calcutta. In 2006 B.S armed revolution was started. On Kartik 27, 2007 the ruling king of that time(The King Tribhuvan)took refugee in the Indian Embassy and went to India. This incident resulted in the braking of mass moment demanding the return of the king. On Falgun 4, the king returned from Dehli and he announced the end of Ranarchy and establishment of democracy on Falgun 7, 2007.

After democracy, the people got the chance to elect their representastive. The supreme power was still in the hand of The King.

Join with us on social media to see our updates on your feed.
facebook logo twitter logo